OTC 2000 : Theory Research and Applications

2meetingimg Alex Thomas, Sara Harkness and Stella Chess at OTC 2000

The Occasional Temperament Conference was held Thursday September 21st-Sunday September 24th, 2000 at the Water's Edge, Westbrook, Connecticut. The meeting was sponsored by The School of Family Studies and The Center for the Study of Health, Culture and Human Development at the University of Connecticut. Meeting Coordinator Sara Harkness, PhD, is the Center Director.

Fifty four professionals and graduate students from North America and Europe attended this conference to discuss recent findings and applications related to the study of temperamental individuality. Highlights of the conference in the research area included longitudinal studies of temperament and cultural, biological and nutritional influences on individual differences in behavioral style.

Applied discussions focussed on temperament counseling, temperament and attentional processes and intervention programs directed at improving awareness of temperament as well as coping and 'goodness of fit.' Conference presentation summary and additional photos can be found by following these links.

Next OTC is planned for the West coast in 18-24 months and will be hosted by Diana Guerin of California State Unversity in Fullerton.

OTC 1998

meetingimg3 Stella Chess, Sean McDevitt, & Bill Carey at OTC '98 in Philadelphia

The 1998 Occasional Temperament Conference was held in Philadelphia on October 16-18. Eighty-five conference participants met at the University of Pennsylvania. Researchers and clinicians from around the world gathered to report recent findings and discuss progress in the field. William Carey, MD received a lifetime achievement award for his contributions to the field and to the many occassional temperament conferences.

A list of previous Occasional Temperament Conference meetings and their sponsors:

  • 2018: Murcia, Spain-Carmen Gonzalez and Charo Rueda
  • 2016: Seattle, Washington-Liliana Lengua & Martha Gartstein
  • 2014: Lincoln, Nebraska-Kathleen Rudasill
  • 2013: Salt Lake City, Utah-Jen Simonds
  • 2010: Brunswick, Maine-Sam Putnam
  • 2008: San Raphael, California-Jan Kristal
  • 2006: Providence, Rhode Island-Ronald Seifer and Judith Bandieri
  • 2004: Athens, Georgia-Chuck Halverson, Valerie Havill & Roy Martin
  • 2002: Newport Beach, California-Diana Guerin
  • 2000: Westbrook, Connecticut-Sara Harkness
  • 1998: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-Barbara Medoff-Cooper & William Carey
  • 1996: Eugene, Oregon-Mary Rothbart and Beverly Fagot
  • 1994: Berkeley, California-James Cameron
  • 1992: Indianapolis, Indiana-Jack Bates and Ted Wachs
  • 1990: Scottsdale, Arizona-Nancy Melvin and Sean McDevitt
  • 1988: Athens, Georgia-Roy Martin
  • 1986: University Park, Pennsylvania-Richard and Jacquie Lerner
  • 1984: Keystone, Colorado-Robert Plomin
  • 1982: Salem, Massachusetts-Charles Super
  • 1980: New Haven, Connecticut-William Carey and Sean McDevitt
  • 1979: Lund, Sweden-Inger Persson-Blennow and Thomas McNeil
  • 1978: Louisville, Kentucky-Ron Wilson and Adam Matheny